WEST OTERO TIMPAS CONSERVATION DISTRICT 200 South 10th Street Rocky Ford, CO 81067

Board of Supervisors Regular Meeting February 6, 2023; 5:30 pm M I N U T E S

I. Call meeting to order

The meeting was called to order by President Gray at 5:17 pm.

Present: Bill Gray, Scott Youker, David Tomky, Dayla Pearl, Tammy Ridennoure

Others Present: Lana Pearson, Nancy Aschermann, Jessica Hiebert

II. Reading of Minutes

Motion Carried to approve the minutes as presented.

III. Financial Report

- A. District
- **B.** Association

Motion Carried to file the financial reports for audit.

C. Audit Books

Board reviewed the Profit and Loss Detail and the Bank Statements.

D. Exemption from Audit

Motion Carried that it be resolved by the board of supervisors of the West Otero Timpas Conservation District that the application for exemption from audit for the West Otero Timpas Conservation District for the Fiscal Year ended December 31, 2022, has been personally reviewed and is hereby approved by a majority of the board of supervisors of the West Otero Timpas Conservation District; that those members of the West Otero Timpas Conservation District have signified their approval by signing the resolution; and that this resolution shall be attached to, and shall become a part of the application for exemption from audit of the West Otero Timpas Conservation District for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2022.

IV. Pav Bills

DM/DCT - \$611.19

Motion Carried to pay the bills.

V. Mileage Report/Meetings Attended

Funding Sources for Canals and PL 566s

VI. Unfinished Business

Matching Grants

<u>Motion Carried</u> to approve Dave Mendenhall and Gary Clark for the Rangeland grant. <u>Motion Carried</u> to approve Richard Pearl, DeLong Farm, Dale Kreft, John Tomky, and Laura Mendenhall for the Irrigation grant with Steven Rein on a waiting list.

VII. New Business

Grant for Prairie Dog Control

Board will consider a matching grant for Prairie Dog Control in 2024.

CD's -- reinvest CDs at 3.01%

Currently have \$10,000 and 2 \$5000 CDs

<u>Motion Carried</u> to remove Leif Berg and Gerald DeLong from the signature card and leave Scott Youker and Bill Gray who are currently on the card.

Motion Carried to re-invest our CDs at 3.01% interest.

Elections – Designated Election Official

Motion Carried to name Nancy Aschermann as the Designated Election Official for the regular special district election scheduled for the second day of May 2023. The DEO may cancel said election if conditions allow and will follow through with required actions.

STAR Plus (Soil Health)

Motion Carried to apply for a second STAR Plus grant.

Local Work Group Meetings will be held this spring.

VIII. FYI

District Operation Training, March 15 – 16, 2023

IX. Partner Updates

The state and our region are hoping for increased funding for EQIP from the Inflation Reduction Act.

X. Adjourn

XI. Next Meeting: Monday, March 6, 2	4UZ3
--------------------------------------	------

Submitted by,

Scott Youker